All dogs, 6 months of age or older, must be licensed in the State of Maine.
To license a dog, you must have a current Maine rabies certificate. If the dog has been spayed or neutered, you must show proof to receive the lower license fee.
A kennel license is available for anyone that has at least 5 dogs kept in a single location under one ownership for breeding, hunting, show, training, field trials or exhibition purposes. A kennel license covers up to 10 dogs and costs $42.00. A kennel license is not a requirement for owners of multiple animals and any dog may be individually licensed.
Late fees are charged after January 31 of each year.
Dog Licensing Fees:
–$6 per year for spayed/neutered dogs
–$11 per year for dogs not spayed/neutered.
*Per state law, any dog license that is renewed after January 31 will be subject to a $25 late fee.*
There are 3 Easy Ways to register/renew your dog license:
#1: Complete the application HERE & mail the following to the Town Office (10 Village Square RD., North Yarmouth, ME 04097): your application, payment (checks made payable to the Town of North Yarmouth), and a copy of your dog’s rabies certificate. Once it is processed, we will mail you back your dog license!
#2: Between October 15th and January 31st, you may go online to complete the registration: Online Dog Licensing
#3: Stop by theTown Office and register your dog in person. Make sure you have a copy of your dog’s rabies certificate!